D.O. Ribera del Duero

Ismael Arroyo along with other winemakers friends of this area and supported by some technicians and officials began the procedures to create the DO Ribera del Duero.

 It was in 1982 when the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food gave the Denomination of Origin to Ribera del Duero and approved its first regulations.

 The Denomination of Origin Ribera del Duero comprises four provinces of the Autonomous Region of Castilla y Leon: there are 60 municipalities in the province of Burgos, 4 belong to Segovia, 19 to Soria and 19 to Valladolid.

 This Denomination ,just as we nowadays know it, comes up after the initiative of a series of wine growers and winemakers concerned about promoting the vineyards and the quality of the wines from Ribera del Duero.

 The main function of the Control Board is to guarantee with their stamp the authenticity of the wines from Ribera del Duero, assuring consumers that each bottle which has a numbered label has passed rigorous quality controls before getting to their glasses.